From Zoo Kid to King Krule: A Discography Journey

From Zoo Kid to King Krule: A Discography Journey

Among the defining voices of indie music today, Archy Ivan Marshall, known better by his stage name King Krule, is a beacon of raw emotion and innovative artistry. Emerging from South London's intricate web of underground scenes, Krule's enigmatic persona, coupled with his deep, rumbling voice and hard-hitting lyricism, is like a balm for the restless spirits of the current generation. This maverick has continuously blurred the lines between punk, jazz, and hip-hop – crafted a sonic legacy filled with heartbreak, love, and reflections on modern life. Here, we chart a course through the winding streets of his EPs and albums, navigating the complex landscapes that define each.

1. 'U.F.O.W.A.V.E.' (2010)

  • Notable Track: An early version of fan favorite "Out Getting Ribs"
  • Highlight: Archy Marshall's first official venture into music saw him adopting the name "Zoo Kid". The minimalistic, almost raw production combined with his arresting voice marked the arrival of an unmistakable talent.

2/ 'King Krule' (2011)

  • Notable Tracks: "The Noose of Jah City" & "Portrait in Black and Blue".
  • Highlight: This self-titled EP was the official adoption of the " King Krule" moniker. It was a more polished effort that showcased his unique blend of styles, from punk to R&B.

3/ '6 Feet Beneath the Moon' (2013)

  • Notable Tracks: "Easy Easy", "Neptune Estate", "Out Getting Ribs" & "Baby Blue"
  • Highlight: Krule's debut full-length album was a deep-dive into his psyche, dealing with themes of love, loneliness, and the complexity of youth. Painting a grim portrait of urban life, his first release was widely lauded by critics and fan alike who praised the record for its refreshing sound and haunting words.

4. 'A New Place 2 Drown' (2015)

  • Notable Tracks: "Arise Dear Brother & "Thames Water"
  • Highlight: Released under his birth name, this was a more experimental project. It was an intersection of visual art, literature, and music, accompanied by a book co-written with his brother Jack.

5/ 'The OOZ' (2017)

  • Notable Tracks: "Dum Surfer", "Biscuit Town" & "Czech One"
  • Highlight: This Mercury-nominated album further established Archy as an influential figure in the music world. The project was an exploration of his mental health and identity intertwined with a hypnotic soundscape of melancholic jazz influences and grunge instrumentals.

6/ 'Man Alive!' (2020)

  • Notable Tracks: "(Don’t Let the Dragon) Draag On", "Comet Face" & "Alone, Omen 3".
  • Highlight: 'Man Alive!' is a stunning reflection on his new chapter in life as a father, and the complexities of existence.

7/ 'Space Heavy' (2023)

  • Notable Tracks: "Seaforth", "If Only It Was Warmth" & "Seagirl" featuring Raveena.
  • Highlight: Crafted between 2020 and 2022 during commutes between London and Liverpool, ' Space Heavy' evolved as Archy divided his time between the two cities. Captivated by the concept of "the space between," the work delves deep into the realms of love, loss, and the universe's unyielding separations. 

To understand King Krule is to understand the ebb and flow of life – its darkest corners and its fleeting moments of light. Through each release, he invites listeners into his world, raw and unfiltered. Whether you've been a fan since his Zoo Kid days or have recently discovered the hypnotic draw of his voice, each EP and album offers a chapter in a story that's still being written. 


Same old Bobby, same old beat. They ain't got nothing on King KruleAdd his stunning records to your Vinyl collection today!


(Photo by Jim Bennett/WireImage)